Skip to main content
Press Release

UU Partners with Local Food Banks for Empty Bowls 2020

Urbana, OH (January 30, 2020)

Urbana University, a branch campus of Franklin University has partnered with the Second Harvest Food Bank to host Empty Bowls 2020, an event to raise awareness about the growing problem of hunger in Champaign County. The ninth annual Empty Bowls of Champaign County will be held Thursday, February 27, from 5-7 p.m. in the Urbana University Student Center.

The event is a fundraiser for Second Harvest Food Bank of Champaign, Clark and Logan Counties offering patrons a beautifully hand-crafted ceramic bowl and a simple meal of soup and bread for $15 per bowl.  All proceeds benefit the Food Bank, which supports 10 Champaign County member agencies—all local food pantries, soup kitchens and shelters. Second Harvest Food Bank collects, stores, and distributes over 600,000 pounds of food annually to these member agencies for distribution to hungry families and individuals throughout the county.

Urbana University students, coaches, faculty and staff support this event to fight hunger by volunteering at the event, greeting community members, washing bowls, serving soup and sitting on the event planning committee. 
The community is invited and encouraged to join the University for a modest meal with a powerful message.

For more information, contact Shana Loveless, Administrative Director, at 614-947-6142 or  

About Urbana University - A Branch Campus of Franklin University

Urbana University, a branch campus of Franklin University, prepares students for successful and professional careers within a caring and supportive environment. Regionally well known for education and teacher preparation programs, Urbana was founded in 1850 and acquired by Franklin in 2014. Urbana’s 128-acre, residential campus nestled in heart of Ohio provides a background for students actively engaged in campus activities through 20 student-led academic, professional, performing arts, social and service organizations. Blue Knights athletics includes 17 NCAA Division II sports and three intercollegiate club sports. Urbana University is a division of Franklin University, which is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

News Type

  • University